Prater, Hiram, Pvt

 Photo In Uniform   Service Details
104 kb
View Time Line
Last Rank
Last Service Branch
Last Primary MOS
Last MOS Group
Infantry (Enlisted)
Primary Unit
1918-1919, 42nd Infantry Division
Service Years
1918 - 1919


Two Overseas Service Bars

 Last Photo   Personal Details 

213 kb

Home State
Year of Birth
This Military Service Page was created/owned by John Prater (USN SCPO/E-8/Retired)-Family to remember Prater, Hiram, Pvt.

If you knew or served with this Soldier and have additional information or photos to support this Page, please leave a message for the Page Administrator(s) HERE.
Contact Info
Home Town
Last Address
Not Specified

Date of Passing
Dec 10, 1973
Location of Interment
Not Specified
Wall/Plot Coordinates
Hurricane Cemetery near Wooton

 Official Badges 

Infantry Shoulder Cord World War I Victory Button World War I Honorable Discharge Chevron

 Unofficial Badges 

 Additional Information
Last Known Activity
Not Specified
Other Comments:
Breathitt Boys Leave For Camp Taylor
May 3, 1918 - Jackson Times
Under Draft Call No. 148, from the Provost Marshal General's office, Washington, D. C., the following named men were inducted into service in the National Army and sent to Camp Zachary Taylor, near Louisville, Kentucky, on the 26th day of April, by the Local Board of Breathitt County, Jackson, Kentucky:

Wayne Turner, Norman Risner, Wiley Jones, Kie Watkins, Letcher Spicer, John Griffith, French Holbrooks, Curtis Duff, John Spicer, Ed Hogston, Thos. Allen, Jr., Brice Cundiff, John Dale, Ashur Spurlock, Sidney Roberts, Wesley McIntosh, Kelly Fletcher, Pearl Wilson, Gold Howard, Floyd Amburgy, Luther Noble, Jesse White, Nimmine Fugate, and Charley Campbell.

Robert Spencer, a registrant from Ohio, was also sent with the same contingent on transfer from that State.

Willie White, of Wolfcoal, was called in the same call and failed to answer, and has been certified to the Adjutant General as a deserter, and will be dealt with according to law prescribed for such offenses, which are very grave in time of war.
Notice is hereby given to all registrants that they may be called at any time, and it is their duty to keep the local board advised of their nearest post office, and to be on the lookout for a call, and that they will be dealt with severely for failing to answer promptly all calls made.
Draftees Called For May 3rd
Under Draft Call No. 168, from the Provost Marshal General's office, Washington, D. C., the following men are called by the Local Board of Breathitt County, to report at the courthouse at 3:00 p. m. on Friday, May 3, 1918, to be inducted into military service in the National Army, and sent to Fort Thomas, Kentucky:

Jesse Little, Frozen Creek; Chas. Arnett, Keck; Arthur Richards, Quicksand; Joseph Brophy, Jackson; Linville Clemons, Portsmouth; Walter R. Pelfry, Calla; Sherman Trent, War Creek; William Henry Moore, Key; Fulton Noble, Whick; Jesse Miller, Noble; Andy Russell, Lambric; Ed Bailey, Bays; Hiram Prater, Quicksand; Marion Sallee, Bays; George Fugate, Noble; Floyd Baker, Goebel Gap; Elijah Fraley, Turkey; Frank Hollon, Turkey; Ezekial Spicer, Oakdale; Blair Childers, Noctor; Chester Jennings, Quicksand; Jack McIntosh, Frozen; Anderson Henson, Wolfcoal; Jerry Gilbert, Juan; Charley Whitt, Portsmouth; Lacy Mann, Stevenson; David Pence, Simpson; Grover C. Watson, Quicksand; Wilson Turner, Houston; and Wiley McDaniel, Guage.

The above registrants have all been duly notified by mail, and will be expected to report at the above said place exactly on the hour and day contained in the order mailed to each of them.

The Rainbow Division (42nd Infantry Division) was the premier National Guard division to fight on the Western Front in the Great War. Made up of units from 26 states and the District of Columbia, the Rainbow was a unique attempt to combine units from every section of the nation and to get them to France as quickly as possible. The Rainbow arrived in France in December 1917, and served in every major battle the AEF (American Expeditionary Force) participated in. After the end of the war in November 1918, the Rainbow was selected to serve in the Army of Occupation, remaining in Germany until the spring of 1919. The division counted in its leadership Douglas MacArthur, William J. "Wild Bill" Donovan (later known for his service as the head of the OSS in World War II and for founding the CIA), soldier-poet Joyce Kilmer, Father Francis P. Duffy, plus future secretaries of the Army and the Air Force and two who would become Army Chiefs of Staff. George S. Patton's tanks supported The Rainbow Division during the St. Mihiel operations, the first time the legendary Patton planned for the use of tanks on the battlefield.
Moto:  Never Forget
World War I - Champagne-Marne, St. Mihiel, Meuse-Argonne

 Photo Album   (More...

 Ribbon Bar

 Unit Assignments/ Advancement Schools
42nd Infantry Division
  1918-1919, 42nd Infantry Division
 Combat and Non-Combat Operations
  1918-1918 World War I
  1918-1918 World War I/Aisne Campaign/World War I/The Battle of Cantigny
  1918-1918 World War I/Champagne-Marne Campaign/World War I/Battle of Chateau-Thierry
  1918-1918 World War I/World War I/St. Mihiel Campaign
  1918-1918 World War I/World War I/Meuse-Argonne Campaign
  1919-1919 Occupation of Germany, 1919 to 1923
Copyright Inc 2003-2011